Supervisory authorities


   

   

our social networks


               

Search




Home > Students corner > Internships with possible extension to Ph.D. > All internships.

AFM characterization of gel particles - Application to living cells

published on

This study is part of the ANR CellDance project which explores a new approach combining nanophotonics and microfluidics to measure the mechanical response of individual cells for diagnostic purposes. Indeed, the deformability of individual cells is an indicator of certain diseases such as malaria. In this master project, we propose a first study on the mechanical measurement of gel beads whose mechanical properties mimic those of red blood cells.

We will use agarose gels to model the red blood cell (RBC). First it is important to characerize their mechanical properties using AFM. Elasticity measurements and viscoelasticity are proposed [1] to find the Young modulus (E) and the dynamic shear moduli (G’ and G’’, Fig. 1) in terms of frequency. Various geometries and AFM probes will be used. Comparisons with RBCs will be made to find the best system to model RBCs. For instance, changing the constituents concentrations will be a possible choice. Once the choice is made, a theoretical rheology model will be used.
This study will continue through a collaboration with our partners in Lyon (INL) in order to trap objects on metasurfaces. A few experiments using gel beads and RBCs will be carried out in order to trap them close to the surface. The resonant cavity will allow the measurement of the reflectivity (Fig. 2) and the object deformation (gel or RBC), in order to find its rheology. Finally the two methods will be compared.

Figure 1. Gel rheology parameters

Figure 2. Trapping of a deformable object on a metasurface

Candidates : We are looking for a candidate with interest for experimentation and he/she will interact with both teams. Physicist/Mechanic profile. Strong motivation

Contact : Claude VERDIER (04 76 63 59 80) claude.verdier@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr

Collaboration : INL Lyon (Taha Benyattou, Magalie Faivre)

Cadre : ANR « CellDance » project

Possible continuation towards PhD : possible and recommended

References :

[1] Y. Abidine, V.M. Laurent, R. Michel, A. Duperray, L.I. Palade, C. Verdier, Physical properties of polyacrylamide gels probed by AFM and rheology, Europhys. Letters, 109, 38003 (2015)

Nos tutelles


   

   

nos reseaux sociaux


               

Rechercher




Accueil > Coin des étudiants > Stages Prolongeables par une thèse > Tous les stages.

Caractérisation par AFM de particules de gel - Application aux cellules vivantes

publié le

Cette étude s’inscrit dans le cadre du projet ANR CellDance qui explore une nouvelle approche combinant nanophotonique et microfluidique pour mesurer la réponse mécanique de cellules individuelles pour le diagnostic. En effet, la déformabilité de cellules individuelles est un indicateur de certaines maladies comme le paludisme. Dans ce projet de master, nous proposons une première étude portant sur la mesure mécanique de billes de gels dont les propriétés mécaniques imitent celles des globules rouges.

Nous utiliserons des gels d’agarose pour modéliser le globule rouge (RBC). Dans un premier temps, il est important de caractériser leurs propriétés mécaniques par AFM. Des mesures en élasticité et viscoélasticité seront proposées [1], pour accéder au module d’Young (E) ou aux modules dynamiques G’ et G’’ (Fig. 1), en fonction de la fréquence. Différentes géométries et pointes AFM seront envisagées. Des comparaisons avec des globules rouges seront effectuées afin de trouver le meilleur système décrivant le globule. On pourra par exemple tester différentes concentrations des constituants du gel. Une fois le modèle précisé, on envisagera une modélisation rhéologique.
Cette étude se poursuivra en collaboration avec nos partenaires lyonnais (INL) dans le but de piéger des objets optiquement sur des métasurfaces. On envisagera quelques expériences sur des billes de gel et des globules rouges qui se déforment lorsqu’ils sont piégés au voisinage de la surface. La cavité de résonance créée permet de déterminer la réflectivité (Fig. 2) et de mesurer ainsi la déformation de l’objet (gel ou globule rouge), donc d’avoir accès à sa rhéologie. Nous comparerons ensuite ces deux méthodes.

Figure 1. Courbes rhéologiques d’un gel

Figure 2. Piégeage d’un objet déformable sur une métasurface


Candidats : Nous recherchons un candidat ayant des intérêts pour l’expérimentation, qui interagira avec les deux équipes. Profil mécanicien/physicien. Grande motivation

Contact : Claude VERDIER (04 76 63 59 80) claude.verdier@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr

Collaboration : INL Lyon (Taha Benyattou, Magalie Faivre)

Cadre : projet ANR « CellDance »

Poursuite en thèse : possible et souhaitée

Références : [1] Y. Abidine, V.M. Laurent, R. Michel, A. Duperray, L.I. Palade, C. Verdier, Physical properties of polyacrylamide gels probed by AFM and rheology, Europhys. Letters, 109, 38003 (2015)